Owners Forum


“The primary goal of the Owners Forum is to collaborate, build understanding and connect, with the purpose of driving innovation, improved integration across the construction continuum, and quality outcomes for the entire construction sector.”


The first Infrastructure Owners Forum was held in April 2017. Attended by 17 public Owners from the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, as well as the University of Calgary and City of Calgary, the initial goal of the Forum was to enable the sharing of best practices and innovations, as well as to provide a format for in-depth conversations about common challenges, and to allow for presentations and interactions with the greater industry. The group meets bi-annually, in April & October.


The Infrastructure Owners Forum currently engages the following Public Owners:

Alberta Infrastructure
Alberta Transportation
City of Calgary
City of Edmonton
City of Leduc
City of Spruce Grove
City of St. Albert
Defence Construction Canada
Edmonton Catholic Schools
Edmonton International Airport
Edmonton Public School Board
MacEwan University
Public Works and Government Services Canada
Strathcona County
University of Alberta
University of Calgary


The Owners Forum Leadership Team is a group of leaders selected by the ECA to explore solutions to industry challenges, respond to meeting feedback, and ultimately make decisions on the direction of the Forum, and agenda for the next meeting. The team meets regularly between group meetings and helps to chair sub-committees.

Current Leadership Team Members:

• Andrew Sharman (VP Facilities & Operations – University of Alberta)

• Brian Latte (Branch Manager, Integrated Infrastructure Services – City of Edmonton)

• Chris Wright (Managing Director, Infrastructure - Edmonton Public School Board)

• Tracy Allen (Assistant Deputy Minister, Capital Projects Delivery – Alberta Infrastructure)

Industry Partner Leaders:

• Allan Partridge (Next Architecture)

• Ian Morgan (Next Architecture)

• Tai Ziola (DIALOG)

• Jen von Berendt (DIALOG | YBG Leadership Team)

• Jan Pierzchajlo (RBK Architects)

• Derek Ciezki (SMP Engineering  |  ECA Board of Directors)

• Greg Burghardt (Arrow Engineering  |  ECA Board of Directors)

• Trevor Doucette (Graham Construction  |  ECA Board of Directors)

• Jamey Singh (Clark Builders  |  ECA Board of Directors)

• Trevor Doucette (Graham Construction  |  ECA Board of Directors)

• Jeff Sterling (Delnor Construction)

• Mike Staines (PCL Construction  |  ECA Board of Directors)

• Ben Aitcheson (One Properties  |  YBG Leadership Team)

 Group Shot 2

ECA Leadership:

• John McNicoll (Executive Director)

• Matt Schellenberger (Director of Corporate Development)

2018-2019 PRIORITIES

The Owners Forum Leadership Team identified the following 2 priorities for 2018/2019:

1) Establishment of a Common Contractor / Supplier / Vendor Performance Evaluation Tool for Owners

Chairs: Brian Latte, Chris Wright

GOAL: To create a common and consistent set of guiding principles for contractor evaluation across owners’ groups.

2) Creation of a common Delivery Method Assessment Tool/Matrix for Owners

Read the latest on the Owners Forum priorities.

Chairs: Andrew Sharman, Tracy Allen

GOAL: To create a tool to educate the full spectrum of the construction industry from the buyers of construction through all of those who contribute to a construction project (consultants, general contractors, sub-contractors, suppliers and manufacturers). Focus is on the 5 main delivery methods (Design-Bid-Build, Design Build, Construction Management, Integrated Project delivery and Public-Private Partnership)


For information, updated documents or questions about the Owners Forum, please contact Matt Schellenberger at matt.schellenberger@edmca.com