Nominations will be accepted from October 14-27, 2021  We hope that many of you will consider standing to serve.  Elections for the 2022 ECA Board of Directors begin on November 9 and close on November 24, 2021, at 2:00 pm MST. 

On September 3rd, 2020, a Special Resolution Meeting was heldmembers in attendance voted unanimously to implement the following changes.  Following the election this year, all classification changes will be fully implemented within the Board.   

  1. New Director Terms - Director terms have been extended from two to three years.  This was recommended to strengthen board stability by decreasing turnover as well as providing overlap between board directors coming on and off the board.   

  1. New Classification for Architects & Engineers - Diversifying the current membership categories ensures that Architects and Engineers, previously eligible in the Manufacturing and Suppliers classification, are represented on the Board and do not fill seats that should be specifically allocated to Construction Manufacturers and Suppliers.  The new classification plan will ensure that each classification has fair representation as well as providing a more focused representation of the Design Consultant Community.  

  1. New Nomination Eligibility Criteria - It is an expectation that firms nominate candidates with significant or senior leadership, authority and oversite in their firm to be eligible to run for the Board. This does not mean that a small company cannot participate.  In fact, it is important to have small firm representation on the Board.  

  1. New Membership Classifications for Elections- 





General Contractors 








Manufacturers & Suppliers 




Architects & Engineers 





(industry leaders, politicians, groups outside of construction, big thinkers, Owner’s:  Private & Public) 



May include up to 4 appointed directors 








New terms would not apply to current board members till their term expires and are re-elected 

2022 ECA Board Election Process:

The ECA’s Board of Directors will be comprised of 11 Directors, 1 Director Ex-Officio (the Chair of the Board), and up to 4 appointed Board members. Directors represent the Association's 4 Classifications of Membership — General Contractors (3), Trades (3), Manufacturers & Suppliers (3) and Architects & Engineers (2). Directors are elected for 3-year terms.

This year’s Board elections will take place November 9–24, with new Directors being announced on November 26. We are required to elect 7 Directors for the 2022 term:

  • 3 to represent the General Contractors Classification
  • 3 to represent the Trades Classification
  • 1 to represent the Manufacturers & Suppliers Classification

 Incumbents for 2022 include:

General Contractors:

  • Jen Hancock – VP Collaborative Construction, Chandos Construction Ltd.
  • Trevor Messal - Project Director, Ledcor Construction Ltd.


  • Bert DeBruin – CEO, AltaPro Electric Ltd.
  • Darryl Wiebe – President, Kerr Interior Systems Ltd.

Seated Board Members under the following Classifications for 2022 include:

Appointed 2022 Chair:

  • Doug Hansen - Project Director, Fillmore Construction Management Inc.

Manufacturers & Suppliers:

  • Leah Marchon – Senior Advisor, Lloyd Sadd Insurance Brokers Ltd.
  • Sean Tymkow – Commercial Manager, Lafarge Canada Inc.

Architects & Engineers:

  • Derek Ciezki - Partner, SMP Engineering
  • Peter Osborne – Partner, GEC Architecture

Each Full Member firm (this excludes Associate Members) is invited to nominate a representative of their firm to stand for election. All nominees will be placed on an email ballot to be circulated to the membership between November 9-24, 2021.

Please be advised that the ECA Board is a volunteer leadership position that requires approximately 75-100 hours of personal commitment per year. This includes quarterly board meetings, one of which occurs at the annual 3-day Board retreat, and subcommittee responsibilities.

Please submit your nomination to by October 27, 2021, at 4:00 pm MDT.

Nomination Form



Thank you for your thoughtful consideration of your participation in our board election as a voter, or as a potential candidate.

Best of luck to all who choose to run.